Breaking the break

Almost two months of silence here. But, I am making progress with my master thesis. It was a lot of reading, learning and writing during last weeks. I learned the basics in thermodynamic modeling with PerpleX and obtained good results for my samples. I also spent more than a week working on Electron Microprobe, a crazy expensive machine which costs 400 NOK (50 Eur)  in an hour. My supervisor was joking that I am the most expensive master student at the department. But that is not true because one of my coursemates spent a month in Argentina for a fieldwork. I should break the Microprobe to beat that.

And then there was also a short course in Tromsø (northern Norway) about deformation processes. We learned about the rheology of lithosphere and deformation mechanisms, practiced to recognize microtextures in thin-sections, calculated flow laws and learned to use grain size piezometers. All of this in just one week. Fantastic course and excellent teaching by prof. Holger Stünitz. I had a chance to discuss my project and that was a big step forward. There will be another short course by him on rock textures this October. I highly recommend it.

Some afterthoughts (inspired by prof. Andrew Putnis)

2 Responses to Breaking the break

  1. Paulina says:

    Hola Liene, como estas? Mi nombre es Paulina, estudio Geología en la universidad Católica del Norte, en Chile. Me gusta leer tus publicaciones, pero la última no la entendi mucho…
    Saludos desde el otro extremo del planeta

    Hello Line, how are you? My name is Paulina, I am study Geology at Northern Catholic University in Chile. I enjoy reading your posts, but the latter did not understand much …
    Greetings from across the planet.

  2. Liene says:

    Hi Paulina,
    It is really nice to find out who my readers are and to hear that somebody likes this blog.
    Regarding the post, explained jokes always sound lame, but the picture was meant as a word game. Creepy in english means weird and scary but in geology creep is a way how the rocks deform (two main mechanisms: diffusion and dislocation creep). So I said that I like things that deform by creep.
    Currently it is the central thing I am concerned with regarding my master thesis. The rocks in my shear zones show strange behavior which could be related to the switch from one deformation mechanism to another.

Leave a Reply

